Leading pitchers as hitters 2010


Hall of fame pitcher Red Ruffing was a very good hitting pitcher and topped .300 eight times.

Here are the final stats for the Red Ruffing award:


Randy Wolf        Milwaukee           11

Joe Blanton        Philadelphia          8

Jaime Garcia        St Louis              8

Dan Haren        Arizona                  8

R A Dickey        New York               7

Yovani Gallardo        Milwaukee      7

Ian Kennedy        Arizona                7


Dan Haren        Arizona                 20

Randy Wolf        Milwaukee           19

Yovani Gallardo        Milwaukee     16

Mike Leake        Cincinnati              16

Chris Narveson        Milwaukee      16

Tim Hudson        Atlanta                  15

Adam Wainwright        St Louis        14

Dan Haren        Arizona                     6

Adam Wainwright        St Louis          5

Yovani Gallardo        Milwaukee         4

Tim Hudson        Atlanta                     4

Derek Lowe        Atlanta                     4

Randy Wolf        Milwaukee                 4


Brian Burres        Pittsburgh                1

Travis Wood        Cincinnati                1

Jonathan Sanchez    San Francisco   1

Home Runs

Yovani Gallardo        Milwaukee         4

Grand Slam Home Run

Brad Penny        St Louis                   1

Runs Batted in

Yovani Gallardo        Milwaukee        10

Bronson Arroyo        Cincinnati           8
Dan Haren        Arizona                      7

Chris Narveson        Milwaukee          7

Barry Enright        Arizona                   6

Daniel Hudson        Arizona                6

Craig Stammen        Washington        6

Adam Wainwright        St Louis           6

Carlos Zambrano        Chicago(N)      6

Bases On Balls

Jon Niese        New York(N)               8

Ian Kennedy        Arizona                   7

Adam Wainwright        St Louis          7

Jon Garland        Arizona                   6

Yovani Gallardo        Milwaukee        5

Mike Leake        Cincinnati                5

Derek Lowe        Atlanta                    5

Stolen Bases

Daniel McCutchen        Pittsburgh      1

Joe Saunders        Arizona                 1

Randy Wolf        Milwaukee               1

Batting Average

Dan Haren        Arizona                 .364

Mike Leake        Cincinnati             .333

Chris Narveson        Milwaukee     .327

Wade LeBlanc        San Diego       .295

R. A. Dickey        New York(N)       .255

On Base Percentage

Mike Leake        Cincinnati              .407

Dan Haren        Arizona                   .375

Chris Narveson        Milwaukee       .365

Yovani Gallardo        Milwaukee      .329

Wade LeBlanc        San Diego         .311

Sacrifice Hits

Clayton Kershaw        Los Angeles(N)        18

Ryan Dempster        Chicago(N)                 16

Barry Zito        San Francisco                      14

Tim Lincecum        San Francisco               13

Hiroki Kuroda        Los Angeles(N)              11

Derek Lowe        Atlanta                              11

Brett Myers        Houston                             11

Roy Oswalt        Houston-Philadelphia        11

Hit By Pitch

Joe Blanton        Philadelphia                       2

Yovani  Gallardo        Milwaukee                  2
Although he spent over two months in the American league, this year’s winner of the Red Ruffing award is:  Dan Haren.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s